The Coalition for Compassionate Care of California (CCCC) coordinates local coalitions across the state, working to ensure access to high-quality, compassionate care for all Californians. Our local coalitions have established POLST in their communities and continue to provide POLST education to healthcare professionals across the continuum of care, including how to use POLST properly and how to facilitate meaningful POLST conversations with patients and families. These coalitions also educate consumers about POLST and advance care planning, and serve as contacts in their community when any issues related to POLST arise.

If you are interested in building a local coalition, please contact CCCC.

This project has been made possible by funding from the California HealthCare Foundation.

Statewide Coalitions

Chinese American Coalition for Compassionate Care

P.O. Box 276, Cupertino, CA 95015
caccc-usa.org

Sandy Chen Stokes, RN, MSN, Founder and Board Chair
(916) 835-4007
sandystokes@caccc-usa.org

Local Coalitions

Alameda/Contra Costa Area

Alameda-Contra Costa POLST Coalition

6230 Claremont Avenue, Oakland, CA 94618
(510) 654-5383

Donald Waters, Administrator
dwaters@accma.org

Mary Lee Gates, NP, MS, Director of Education and Outreach
mlgatesnp@live.com

David English, MD, Coalition Chair and Physician Champion
denglish@alamedahealthsystem.org

Antelope Valley Area

Antelope Valley Care Transitions Collaborative

ProCare Hospice
42442 10th Street West Suite E, Lancaster, CA 93534

Brandi Wheeler, Director of Marketing
(661) 951-1146
bwheeler@procarenet.com

Lindsay Holland, Clinical Project Manager
Health Services Advisory Group
(818) 265-4671
lholland@hsag.com

Bakersfield Area

Greater Bakersfield Better Care Coalition

Christopher Meyers, PhD, Director
Kegley Institute of Ethics
California State University, Bakersfield
(661) 654-3149
cmeyers@csub.edu

Central Coast Area

Central Coast Coalition for Compassionate Care

Kris Kington-Barker, Executive Director
Hospice of San Luis Obispo County
1304 Pacific St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 544-2266
(805) 471-1233 mobile
kriskington@hospiceslo.org

Central Valley Area

California Central Valley Coalition for Compassionate Care

valleycoalition.org
facebook.com/CCVCCC.Fresno

Jill McCarthy, MBA
Hinds Hospice
(559) 317-6018
jill@hindshospice.org

Chico Metropolitan Area

Paradise POLST Project

Toby Brandtman, RN, Nurse Coordinator
Feather River Hospital, P.O. Box 2396, Paradise, CA 95967
(530) 514-5089 mobile
paradisepolst@gmail.com

Humboldt Area

Humboldt POLST Coalition

Amy Cirincione, LCSW
Hospice of Humboldt
(707) 445‐8443
acirincione@hospiceofhumboldt.org

Los Angeles (West Los Angeles) Area

West Los Angeles POLST Coalition

Paul Schneider, MD, FACP
Southern California Bioethics Committee Consortium
(310) 268‐3016
Paul.Schneider@va.gov

Marin Area

Marin County POLST Coalition

Teresa Tooker, Provider Relations Liaison
Hospice by the Bay
17 East Sir Francis Drake Blvd., Larkspur, CA 94939
(415) 927-2273 or
(415) 526-5672 direct
ttooker@hospicebythebay.org

Mendocino Area

Mendocino POLST Coalition

Mark Apfel, MD
Anderson Valley Health Center
(707) 895‐3477
mapfel@avhc.org

Monterey Area

Compassionate Care Alliance

Vicki Nelson, Executive Director
(831) 655-9506
vcnelson@earthlink.net

Orange County Area

Orange County POLST Coalition

Patty Barnett Mouton
Alzheimer’s Association, Orange County Chapter
(714) 349-5517 mobile
(949) 955-9000 office
patty.mouton@alz.org

Dr. Vincent Nguyen
Hoag Hospital
(949) 764-8585
Vincent.Nguyen@Hoag.org

Greater Pasadena Area

San Gabriel Valley End-of-Life Care Coalition

Marcia Penido, LCSW, MPH
Huntington Hospital
(626) 397-3329
marcia.penido@huntingtonhospital.com

Patty Watson-Wood, RN
Huntington Hospital
(626) 397-3813
patty.watson-wood@huntingtonhospital.com

Wendy Kohlhase, PhD
Huntington Hospital, Methodist Hospital, Verdugo Hills Hospital
(626) 823-1103
wkohlhaseconsulting@gmail.com

Riverside/San Bernardino Area

Inland Empire Palliative Care Coalition

Lynne Elwan, Program Manager
(714) 713-1126
lynneelwan@yahoo.com

Dr. Tarek Mahdi, Advisory Group Chair
(951) 233-7839
drtmahdi@famdoc.org

Dolores Green, Executive Director
Riverside County Medical Assn.
(951) 686-3342
dgreen@rcmanet.org

Alternate Contact to Dolores –
Nanette Bernstein
(951) 686-3342
nbernstein@rcmanet.org

Sacramento Area

Sacramento POLST Coalition

Christine Evans, RN, MSN
Dignity Health
chris.evans@dignityhealth.org

Susan Carson
Susan.Carson@DignityHealth.org

Cindy Carroll
ParishRN@stjohnslc.org

San Diego Area

San Diego POLST Coalition

General email
sandiegopolst@gmail.com

Christine Knutson RN, MSN
(760) 473-1271
chrisknutson@prodigy.net

Karl Steinberg, MD, CMD
karlsteinberg@mail.com

Caroline Boaz, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC
CSUSM Institute for Palliative Care
(760) 750-7291
cboaz@csusm.edu

San Fernando/Santa Clarita Valley Area

SPA 2 POLST Coalition

Joni Novosel, Executive Director
Valley Care Community Consortium
(818) 947-4040
jnovosel@dhs.lacounty.gov

San Francisco Area

San Francisco Community-based Palliative Care Initiative

Steve Heilig
San Francisco Medical Society
(415) 561‐0850 ext. 270
heilig@sfms.org

Jeff Newman
Jeff.Newman@UCSF.edu

Nate Hinerman
nphinerman@usfca.edu

Santa Clara/ San Jose Area

Santa Clara County POLST Coalition

Steve Lai, MD
Palo Alto Medical Foundation, Palo Alto Division
795 El Camino Real, Palo Alto CA 94301
(650) 853-2240
lais3@sutterhealth.org

Ellen Stirling, RN
elstirling@aol.com

Santa Mateo Area

Coalition for Compassionate Care of San Mateo County

Francine Serafin-Dickson, MBA, RN, Chair
Executive Director
Hospital Consortium of San Mateo County
222 West 29th Avenue, San Mateo, CA 94403
(650) 573-3957
fsdickson@hospitalconsort.org

Santa Barbara Area

Santa Barbara POLST Coalition

Susan Plummer
Alliance for Living and Dying Well
(805) 455‐2161
susan@allianceforlivinganddyingwell.org

Jeanne M. West
Doctors Assisting Seniors at Home
1187 Harbor Hills Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93109
(805) 845-3747
(805) 886-4234 mobile
jw@jeannewest.com
jwest@dashsb.com

Santa Cruz Area

Santa Cruz County Make Your Wishes Known Initiative

Shirley Sapena, MSW
Transitional Care Liaison
(831) 430‐3050
ssapena@hospicesantacruz.org

Sonoma County

Journey Project Coalition

Susan Keller, MA, MLIS, Director
Community Network Journey Project
P.O. Box 2331, Santa Rosa, CA 95405
(707) 539-2364
network@pacific.net
CaringCommunity.org

Stanislaus/San Joaquin Area

Stanislaus POLST Coalition

Teri Collet, ACSW, LCSW, ACHP-SW
(209) 681-5226
tcolletlcsw@yahoo.com

Woodland/Yolo Area

Yolo POLST Coalition

Joanne Hatchett, MSN, FNP
Woodland Health Care
(530) 662-3961
joanne.hatchett@dignityhealth.org

Jeffrey Yee, MD
Woodland Medical Group
632 West Gibson Ave, Woodland, CA 95695
(530) 668-2650
jeff.yee@dignityhealth.org